Kathmandu University
Powered by Google
About Kathmandu University
Be the first to know
About KU
History of KU
Our Development Efforts
Financing Support
Management Service Division
Finance Division
Information and Library Division
University Administration
Senate Members
Board of Trustees
Executive Council
Academic Council
Organizational Chart

Affiliates & Donors

Affiliates colleges
Collaborating Teaching Institutions
Collaborating Non Teaching Institutions
Major Donors
University Administration

The university enjoyed utmost autonomy in operation and management. The Senate, Executive Council, Academic Council and the Deans are responsible for development of policies and programs of the university.

Kathmandu University Senate has thirty-five members who are ex-officio university authorities, educationists, industrialists, donors, trustees, and representatives of the affiliated institutions. Hon’ble Prime-Minister, the Chancellor of the university, is the chair. Hon’ble Education & Sports Minister is the Pro-Chancellor. The Vice Chancellor, Registrar, and the Deans, one principal of affiliated college, two teacher representatives and a student representative sit in the senate. Member, National Planning Commission, Parliamentarians, Secretary of Ministry of Education & Sports, Secretary of Ministry of Finance, Mayors of Dhulikhel and Banepa Municipalities are also ex-officio members.

The Senate is the supreme governing body of the university which, inter-alia, decides about academic programs, degrees, affiliations; examines and approves annual programs, budget proposals, audited report, fixes number of teachers, administrative staff, and employees and terms and condition of their services; constitutes recommendation committee for the appointment of Vice Chancellor and other committees as required.

The University’s Board of Trustees is composed of renowned personalities and is entrusted with responsibilities of approving long term plans, generating, and controlling of resource. It gives direction whenever needed and also represents in the search committee for the selection of Vice Chancellor.

The Executive Council (EC) consists of the Vice Chancellor (VC), Registrar, two Deans and one teacher representative nominated by the Senate. VC Chairs the EC meeting which executes the decisions and directives of the Senate, follows the policy and guidelines of Government of Nepal, prepares and presents annual programs, budget, progress and audited reports to the Senate, accepts grants and donations, manages funds, assets-movable and immovable and disposes of property, provides oversight to programs run and reports on them, prepares draft rules and submits them for approval, appoints personnel as required, fixes terms and conditions of their services and presents them to the Senate.

The Academic Council is the main educational and academic authority of the university. It consists of fifteen members – Vice Chancellor, Registrar, six Deans, five chairpersons of the subject committee, and two representatives of affiliated colleges. The Vice Chancellor is the chair of the council. It sets up the standard of learning and teaching, curricula, quality of teaching materials, types of examinations, methods of evaluations, size of the classes and admission requirements. It also sets up policies for standard of education and research, arranges for awarding honorary degrees and prescribes minimum qualifications of teachers of various levels.

Schools are the centers of educational activities and Deans are their chief. Each school has one faculty board and a research committee headed by the respective Dean and several subject committees which are chaired by the Head of Department (HoD) of the concerned subject.

Get the information

The University
Message from the VC
About University
Rules and Regulations
Alumni Association
KU - (International Center)
KU Libraries
Online Catalogue (OPAC)
Exam Section
Examination Result
Social Media
KU in YouTube
KU in Facebook

©Kathmandu University Dhulikhel, NEPAL.Tel.977-011-415100, 977-011-415200, 977-011-415021,977-9801210035,977-011-415005
Fax-977-011- 415011